Life Style

Boredom Eating: Problem or Productive?

I’ve been pretty bored lately. That’s an understatement, but it’s true. I’m bored out of my mind. While moping around in my boredom, I got to thinking about food. As people, the first thing that comes to mind when we’re bored is food. The constant struggle of “am I hungry or am I just bored?” has been consuming my thoughts for nearly two days. But it has me thinking, is boredom eating actually a problem? Or is it, in fact, productive?

The way I see it, it can be either. Eating when bored is a sure way to put on some extra pounds. It’s just snacking for the sake of something to do. However, I hate the feeling of being full. I don’t like overeating. If I’m already full, I’m not going to eat. Also, if I could eat now, I won’t have to worry about it later. There are so many ways to think about boredom eating. Also, doesn’t eating keep your metabolism going?

Another thing to remember is that nobody likes being hangry. I can’t speak for anyone else, but being bored makes me angry. And if I start to think about food, I’m going to be hungry. So a combination of bored, hungry and angry just doesn’t seem like it would go very well. Isn’t everyone happier when they’re eating? Food makes me happy. I enjoy eating.

I think I just talked myself into the answer: Boredom eating is productive. Eating is an activity to cure the boredom, it makes people happy, and it satisfies any hunger right away instead of waiting until later. If I’m worried about eating too much when I’m bored, I’ll just do crunches the next time I’m bored or I’ll just eat healthy snacks. So who’s bringing me Qdoba?

Leave a Reply

