Life Style

Take The Compliment

We all have our insecurities. Everyone has something that they wish they could change about themselves. Currently, I wish my hair was longer and my thighs were thinner. It’s completely normal. It doesn’t mean that we’re unattractive! In fact, I’m positive that nearly everyone has received a compliment at least once. 

Today’s generation is terrified of compliments. I’m super awkward about them. I always feel like I have to deny them, but I shouldn’t. Compliments aren’t just handed out for kicks and giggles. They’re pretty genuine. They’re often misinterpreted, as well. Not every compliment has a hidden agenda. Sometimes people just feel like spreading some positivity. 

I give out compliments daily. I think it’s important to let someone know if I like their outfit or if they’re make up looks great! Positive reinforcement works. It makes someone’s day. I feel great after accepting compliments. I’m allowed to accept kind treatment from people. It’s not vain or selfish to accept compliments. There’s no reason to feel bad or get defense about it. 

Just because we’re not perfect, doesn’t mean we have to ignore positive aspects about us. Finding the things you like about yourself and finding your best qualities is what fuels self-esteem. It’s okay to like yourself. It’s okay to be proud of yourself. And it’s definitely okay to accept compliments from people without feeling bad or having to discredit them with flaws and insecurities. Loving yourself is the best thing you can do in this life. 

Leave a Reply

