Life Style · Relationship

Your Happiness Matters

I think that humans are, in general, people pleasers. We instinctively like to make other people happy. It’s a great feeling to know the you’ve contributed to someone’s happiness. Who doesn’t like happy people? But I got to thinking, and my happiness is most important. At first I questioned if that thought was selfish, and then I realized that it wasn’t. How can I ensure someone else’s happiness if I’m not truly happy myself? I love seeing other people being happy, but it can’t come at the extent of my own happiness.

This life is the only one we have. We have to do what makes us happy. I want to be able to look back and think of all the fun memories and happy times that filled my life. I’m too often worried about what other people think about me and my opinions and my choices. Being self-conscious about other people’s opinions just postpones me from doing what makes me happy. Living life for myself and making sure that I’m fulfilling my dreams and desires is important.

Sometimes I try too hard to make other people happy, or rather just try to not upset them, and it comes at the expense of my happiness. Don’t get me wrong, I thrive off of creating joy for other people. Humans have to look out for each other. But if my own happiness is diminished because of a choice I made to protect someone else’s feelings, is that what’s best? The last thing I want is to be filled with regret. I don’t want to regret choosing someone else over myself. I don’t want to regret ignoring what makes me happy. Nobody is responsible for my happiness, except for me. I am the only person responsible for making sure that I have a life full of happiness, memories, and adventure.

I choose to surround myself with things that make me happy, people that make me happy, and adventures that make me happy. For example, I love eating ice cream with Grant on a cruise ship. I choose to make sure that I’m satisfying my own dreams and creating a positive energy for myself. Positive energy is infectious. It’s what inspires other people to create a positive outlook and lifestyle. But without happiness, how can I inspire others?

While making sure other people are happy is my natural instinct, I need to remember what creates joy for me. It’s important to take time for yourself and to do what makes you happy. It’s not selfish. It’s not wrong. It’s crucial to remember your own happiness because you are the only person responsible for that. It’s okay to go get a manicure, buy a video game, take a vacation, etc., if that’s what you want to do. Just do what makes you happy. And remember that your happiness shouldn’t be diminished for the sake of someone else’s.

Side note: I’m not saying that you shouldn’t put other people first, because it’s good to care about other humans. Just don’t forget to let yourself be happy. That’s all!

 

Leave a Reply

