Relationship

My Best Friend Is Also My Boyfriend, And It’s A Good Thing.

It’s no secret that I don’t have many female friends. I’ve always had guy friends. It’s easier that way. Guys are less dramatic, jealous and catty than girls. But, maybe that’s just my experience. Being the girl who was friends with the boys had its own challenges. It was inevitable that friendships sometimes became awkward when more feelings started to develop. And if I’m being honest, I’ve lost too many best friends to the idea of romance.

My boyfriend, my forever, is also my best friend. It took some time for me to realize how lucky I am, but I know that my relationship is something that I would never change. I didn’t want to give him the chance. I was so angry and scared that he broke the rules and didn’t want to stay friends. But opening my heart up to my best friend was the best decision that I have ever made.

Dating your best friend is like watching baby goat videos on repeat. You can’t help but be happy. It’s the best feeling in the entire world. Going on adventures and spending every single day with your best friend isn’t something that many people get to experience. I’m lucky.

Sometimes things get weird in relationships. They’re scary. You never know what what the other is thinking. We don’t have that problem. We know everything about each other. Dating my best friend allows us to move right past the awkward and embarrassing things. We’re not afraid to tell each other exactly what’s on our minds because that’s what we did before we started dating. 

Being best friends allows us to have social outings and not be the gross couple at the event. We don’t participate in public displays of affection. We don’t snuggle around our friends. We don’t play footsie under the table. We’re dating, but we don’t feel the need to prove it to anyone else. Our relationship is so unique. People often ask me if Grant and I are actually dating or if we’re just playing some joke on everyone. That’s why I love us. We’re low maintanence and nobody but us knows our relationship. 

Our friendship comes first. It’s what the foundation of our relationship is built on. I can’t image what my life would be if I had stayed angry at Grant. If you’re struggling with sharing your feelings with someone close to you, just do it. It’ll be the best decision of your life. I’m so lucky to have the relationship of my dreams, the relationship I never knew I desired. 

So, thanks to Grant for being my best friend I guess. 

Leave a Reply

